Announcement

Collapse

Software Upgrade

I upgraded the software to ensure it works with PHP 8+ and save me a few bucks each month. If you encounter any issues, please email me.
See more
See less

*Shels, Anyone?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• *Shels, Anyone?

Hey guys, I'm new to the Dredg forums. Fun times! Having had a look around a bit, it's good to see other people are into some bands I like.. 36 Crazyfists, Opeth, Pennywise. Safe stuff.

I was just wondering how many of you guys had heard of the band *Shels? They produce some of the most hauntingly beautiful post-metal / instrumentally / experimentally music I've heard in a long time, featuring ex-members from such bands as Mahumodo, Eden Maine, Fireapple Red and Devil Sold His Soul. The resulting experience consists of gorgeous soundscapes picked with strings and trumpets and lovely guitar sections, featuring some incredibly pretty layering and instrument arrangement, occasionally peaking with movements of powerfully crushing metal riffs.

Since I picked up their debut album 'Sea Of The Dying Dhow' last year, it has taken place as one of my all time favourite albums, so I can easily say they were one of my greatest discoveries of 2007. Which is always a good thing! I really think most people will be able to find something to like in *Shels, particularly those already familiar with the stylings of post-rock music.

Anyway, I digress... *Shels are going to be releasing their second album 'Plains Of The Purple Buffalo' on US shores around Summertime this year, and this will be the first time they've taken their work to America, so keep your eyes and ears peeled! I'm sure they'd really appreciate if you could have a quick listen, to see what you think.